Grain Free Stuffed Bell Peppers (Gluten Free, Grain Free, Egg Free, Soy Free)

Who’s excited for summer?? This is a great recipe for any season, but I feel like there may be a way to grill these as well, so I’ll be attempting that soon!

I developed this recipe because so many of the stuffed pepper recipes include rice in them, and rice is something my body doesn’t tolerate at all in addition to corn and gluten. I know a lot of my friends fall into the eating grain-free boat as well, and all of them now make this recipe. 🙂

My husband asks me for these all the time. He’s not big on veggies, so I find this recipe to be a huge relief. Plus, it’s easy to make, and a quick addition to any existing main dish. 🙂 I find I almost always have all of these ingredients too, and I loathe nothing more than having to make a last-minute store trip for dinner – so that’s a double winner!

Let’s get down to business:

You’ll need four colored bell peppers cut in half lengthwise to make boats. Cut them as shown below.
Image
Rub them with grape seed or olive oil (or you could even spray them with oil if you have one of those oil misters) and roast them at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes skin side down. Then add this mixture into your roasted boats:

16oz cream cheese
1/2 c fresh salsa (check for pesky cornstarch in ingredient list!)
1 whole smallish sweet onion, diced
4 cloves pressed garlic
Salt and pepper to taste
8 oz. sausage (check ingredients!), cooked & drained

Cream your cream cheese with pressed garlic and salt/pepper. Then stir in remaining ingredients. Put mixture into boats and top with mozzarella cheese.

Place back into oven at 400 degrees for 12 minutes, then on high broil for 2-3 minutes. Done!

These accompanied some grilled chicken, so I took a picture with it. Yum!!

Image

Enjoy the deliciousness!

Leave a Reply

