Cheesy Broccoli Chicken Casserole

I have a picky 4-year-old. With Celiac Disease. There. I said it.

Sometimes I ask myself why I even try to make family dinners when each of the three of us have different dietary requirements… but then I remember that it really isn’t that difficult to prepare things that we all like. Therein lies the importance of this recipe. My daughter LOVES broccoli, so I suppose that’s a “win” right there. Cheese only makes it better. My husband isn’t a big broccoli fan, yet this recipe received his 100% approval of speechless gorging. Who says you have to HIDE the veggies for them to be delicious?! 🙂

It’s super easy to make too! A few substitutions can even make this recipe totally grain-free, which is a must for me! I know my favorite kind of meals are the ones I can throw together in a few minutes, and cook for under and hour – and sit down for 45 whole minutes. I know. Impressive.

I digress, Here’s the fabulous recipe!

Ingredients:

1 (10.75 oz.) box of gluten-free cream of mushroom soup (OR 10.75 oz. of Imagine’s Garden Broccoli Soup mixed with 1/4 C.
Arrowroot Flour – This makes the recipe grain free)
1/2 C. Mayonnaise
1/2 C. Sour Cream
1/4 C. Finely Chopped Sweet Onion
16 oz. Frozen Broccoli Florets
16 oz. Grilled Chicken Strips (I get Frozen pre-cooked ones)
20 oz. Sharp Cheddar Cheese
Garlic Salt & Pepper to Taste
2 Pinches Paprika

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F. Butter or spray a 9×13 inch baking dish.

In a medium bowl, whisk together cream of mushroom (or garden broccoli) soup, mayonnaise, sour cream, & onion. Place frozen broccoli and frozen chicken strips into a very large mixing bowl – make sure you break up any frozen-together pieces!

Pour soup mixture on top of broccoli and chicken and mix well. Then dump on your cheese and mix well again. Season with salt, pepper, and add your paprika.

Put into buttered baking dish, and bake at 350 for 45 minutes to 1 hour. Enjoy!

Image

Leave a Reply

